Fake universal laws of businesses

I recently bumped into “ReWork” by Jason Fried & David Hansson, of 37signals fame. Couldn’t avoid putting it in the same bag as Tim Ferris’ “The 4-hour work week”. Somehow it seems people are creating universal laws for businesses out of thin-air! Excuse me, but it’s really annoying me.

If you were to sell your books saying “Hey guys, if you have my life, my principles or motivations, my conditions, my opportunities, my network, my funds, my luck(?), take this and apply it, and you’ll have my success too”, I’d be happy! Heck, you could just even say “Hey guys, this worked for me, why don’t you try it and see what valuable information you can find out in it?”. But no, to sell books we have to state that we just found out some new revolutionary, ground-breaking, cloud-departing ways to make businesses. Really, I can’t seem to find much difference between this and some online “scams” which also state to have found the holy-grail for your success. It’s just that finding a publisher and putting your words on paper makes it look more valuable.

Honestly, I find great value in both of these books. There are some things which can really help to make you happier/healthier/wealthier or more productive. It’s just that making universal laws out of stuff which is so variable from person to person, culture to culture, and so specific to a huge amount of factors doesn’t resonate with me.

Please do share your experiences! Please do share your knowledge and advices! It will always be valuable for something for someone… just don’t make a universal law out of it.

Deixe uma Resposta

